Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

TW: Warriors, how many activations?

 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:34 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:04 am
Posts: 29
Location: Colorado Springs , Co
Since warriors are bought as a brood do they activate as one or as individuals ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 8:37 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 10:43 pm
Posts: 7907
Location: New Zealand
Activate as one.

_________________
http://hordesofthings.blogspot.co.nz/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 2:10 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 7:04 am
Posts: 29
Location: Colorado Springs , Co
So If you add extra warriors you just get a larger foot print.
That makes things very interesting.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 9:03 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Yarmouth, ME ?USA
Quote (xen3 @ 17 2005 July,21:10)
So If you add extra warriors you just get a larger foot print.
That makes things very interesting.

Hmmm...unsure how you'd add extra warriors. Each Brood of TW will act on its own and
there's no way (in the current version of the NidList, IIRC) to combine Synapse broods. :(

...or am I missing something? ?:D

Larry

_________________
"Going into hyperdrive ...is unpleasantly like being drunk"
"Well, what's so unpleasant about being drunk?"
"Ask a glass of water"   - HHGG


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:25 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9609
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Synapse creatures can combine to form a single swarm in the most recent list.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 2:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Yarmouth, ME ?USA
Quote (nealhunt @ 20 2005 July,09:25)
Synapse creatures can combine to form a single swarm in the most recent list.

Ah, cool!! Hmmm... could you tell me where it's been posted? I've been following these
discussion lists pretty closely but must have missed it. :( :(

TIA!
Larry

_________________
"Going into hyperdrive ...is unpleasantly like being drunk"
"Well, what's so unpleasant about being drunk?"
"Ask a glass of water"   - HHGG


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 1:24 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9609
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
I don't know if it was posted.  Maksim had been posting the revisions in locked/pinned threads but the latest came out not too long before the forum change and I'm not sure it made it to the boards.  He hasn't posted it here as far as I know.

Latest versions is 5.40B and it definitely had combined SCs.  It might have also been included in 5.35.

If you email Maksim, he will put you on the distribution list to receive the .doc file as he updates new versions.  I believe the next update is due out soon.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 6:41 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Yarmouth, ME ?USA
Quote (nealhunt @ 21 2005 July,08:24)
Latest versions is 5.40B and it definitely had combined SCs.

Hey all -
Sorry for the slow reply... :(

Neal, I have to admit, I doubted you... :) ?But then I went back and re-read the
Nid armylist (v5.40B) and found this text in T1.30 Design Concept: Tyranid Swarms...

Synapse creatures can work together and share broods as two ?formations
effectively combining into one new formation. In this fashion, Tyranid formations
can provide protection against losing a Synapse unit and having an entire brood
go to ground.


Hmmm... I've read and re-read that text many, many times... and I'm still not clear
on what it's saying. Maksim, could you help me out by telling me what the *intent* of
the rule is? Is it supposed to allow two (or more?) Synapse Formations to combine into
one BIG formation (ie, all the Synapse creatures and all the Brood critters under their
sway acting on ONE activation?

...or is intended to simply clarify that if all the Synapse critters in a given Swarm are
killed, their now-Synapse-less brood critters can count as being under the control of any
nearby Synapse critters (provided they're within Synapse range?)...??

...or is it something else? :oo

I don't like to sit back and sound like a nay-sayer... but when I read that rule as written,
it doesn't "define" anything for me... it just leaves my confused.

Another thing confusing the issue for me is this text in the previous paragraph...
Starting with the second turn a swarm consists of one synapse creature
formation and all the brood units within 15cms of a unit from that synapse
creature formation.

This seems to directly contradict the 'combining' rule in the next paragraph.

Maksim, if you could share what the intent of the rule is, I'd be happy to help
rewrite/clarify them so that others can pick *me* apart... :)

One last (unrelated) question, Maksim - did you ever get the Nid Ref-Sheets
that I emailed to you? I can resend them if not.

As always, thanks for all your work...
Larry

_________________
"Going into hyperdrive ...is unpleasantly like being drunk"
"Well, what's so unpleasant about being drunk?"
"Ask a glass of water"   - HHGG


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: TW: Warriors, how many activations?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 8:20 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9609
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Carp.  I am apparently developing a habit of closing the window instead of hitting the post button...
====

It is confusing and I have also asked Maksim for clarification.  The potential rules interactions for combining synapse nodes are extensive and will require a detailed explanation when it gets to that point.

The latter text you quoted has been there since v1.0, with a minor mod to refer to SC formations rather than SCs.  It was not changed to reflect later mods which contradict it.

The former text was a later addition (somewhere in the 5,x series, iirc) and showed up after discussion of combining SCs into a single swarm.  Maksim has also explicitly stated on here and the SG forums that you can combine SCs into a single swarm.

I don't think there is any question as to intent from all that, but none of that is apparent from just looking at the actual text.

_________________
Neal


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net