Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Planetfall questions

 Post subject: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 6:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 126
So had a game this week and i got a few different views on how this is played.

Planetfalled a Thunderhawk full of dudes out of a spaceship.


Quote from planet fall:

Any units being transported are allowed to disembark immediately on landing, or stay on board and disembark later. Landing does not count as movement for the purposes of triggering enemy overwatch fire. Disembarking triggers overwatch fire as normal.

Units that land by planetfall may take an action later in the turn. In effect the units land from the spacecraft when the spacecraft takes its action, and can take an action of their own later in the same turn. Remember that any formations that have landed by planetfall and scattered out of formation must move back into a legal formation when they take an action. Aircraft that land by planetfall are treated in the same manner as a landed aircraft (see 4.2.5), and they may take off again later in the game.

Quote from WE transports:

Once the units being transported have mounted up, the war engine can move off with them inside as part of one of its own actions in a subsequent turn. It can dismount the transported units at the end of a move in the same way as a normal transport vehicle (i.e., the units are placed within 5cms of the transport at the end of a move).

Formations that dismount in this way may not take an action in the turn they dismount, but are allowed to either shoot or fight in an assault if the war engine that was transporting it is able to shoot or assault. In both cases, the war engine and the transported units are treated as a single formation until the shooting attack or assault has been resolved. The war engine and the formation that disembarked are treated as being separate formations once the war engine has completely resolved its action.


Question is, since they have unloaded straight after the planet fall, are they consider separate formations and can then activate separate later that turn.

Example: Thunderhawk overwatches, next activation other formation marches away.

Im kinda thinking they are separate formations as they got the free unload from the planetfall. I have guys think this is right, and ive had guys think they are one formation.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:48 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 5755
Location: Leicester UK
Yet again the EA rulebook is not particularly clear on something... *shock* ;)

I'd say from reading the rules that if you disembark your units upon landing then they count as wholly separate and may activate

_________________
Adeptus Astartes Army Champion, also AC for Imperial Fists and Red Corsairs

various hobby/painting threads: full of 6mm goodness

Army Forge List Co-ordinator (netEA+EpicUK)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 12:56 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7918
Location: Worcester, MA
If they disembark with the Planetfall rules they're not disembarking as part of the WE's activation. They're both separate formation at that point and can/must activate later in the turn.

If they remained on the WE, they could only disembark as part of its activation (which must include a move).

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2017 2:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 126
Great, thanks heaps for the replies. Its how i thought and my opponent at the time but i wanted to get more of a ruling from others before i run off saying this is the rules :P

Thanks heaps


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 2701
Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?

_________________
https://epic40ksweden.wordpress.com/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:31 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 5755
Location: Leicester UK
mordoten wrote:
Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?


I believe the rule is intended that way (and I feel like I have definitely read it that way before too) the unit does not make an approach move so as written, cannot come under fire from ground flak

yet more horribly ambiguous rules writing from GW....

_________________
Adeptus Astartes Army Champion, also AC for Imperial Fists and Red Corsairs

various hobby/painting threads: full of 6mm goodness

Army Forge List Co-ordinator (netEA+EpicUK)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2207
Location: UK
mordoten wrote:
Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?

Flak attacks can only be made during approach and disengagement moves, so no.

If the planet falling WE is an aircraft and it disengages, then it would be subject to flak attacks at that point.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 5:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 2701
Aha, thanks!!

_________________
https://epic40ksweden.wordpress.com/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 11:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5308
Location: London, UK
Yup, Planetfalling air-transports is a key way to introduce assault troops into a heavily defended area, or to drop mechanised forces near the intended assault point.
As the others point out
  • since it was the spaceship that activated, all the formations that have just arrived (and disembarked) can activate later in the turn, including the air-transport.
  • troops may stay onboard if they want, but then can only disembark when the transport activates (as a ground unit). In this case the transport can declare an action, not actually move, and the disembarking troops can shoot at or even engage the declared target within usual rules of range, LoS etc.
  • the transports cannot be shot at by enemy AA, but they can be shot by enemy on OW after they have disembarked


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2017 11:58 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 7923
Location: Manalapan, FL
Yuppers. No AA on planetfall!! [Looks at Eldar shiftily]

_________________
The Artist Formerly Known As Marine Army Champion

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 1:54 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 126
oooo heaps of info. thanks guys.

now to put more 200 point drop pods into the list :P


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2017 2:00 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5308
Location: London, UK
Good luck with the planning, and even more so with the execution
;D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 74
"all the formations that have just arrived (and disembarked) can activate later in the turn, including the air-transport."

Ginger, - just for clarity, I assume the air transport when it activates, does so as a ground based war engine with zero move?
i.e it cant fly off and do a bombing run from the place it planetfell ?

thanks.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:38 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am
Posts: 126
Yeah it says in the rules it acts as a WE with 0 move so no fly off until the end of the turn. But from my understanding it can also pick up the same formatiom and take off at the end of turn since it hasnt activated. But would have to be within 5.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:25 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:01 pm
Posts: 1116
Norto wrote:
Yeah it says in the rules it acts as a WE with 0 move so no fly off until the end of the turn. But from my understanding it can also pick up the same formatiom and take off at the end of turn since it hasnt activated. But would have to be within 5.


Don't think it can pick up the same formation as you can't normally re-enter an aircraft after assaulting from them. That would be very powerful, especially with eldar.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net