Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Assault question

 Post subject: Assault question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 5:39 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
What happens if after countercharge the engaging formation has no model within 15cm of target? I guess you just roll for the result. Thanks.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2015 6:57 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:32 pm
Posts: 4459
Location: North Yorkshire
No you just stop the activation.

_________________
_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk - home of the UK Epic tournament scene
NetEA NetERC Xenos Lists Chair
NetEA Ork + Feral Ork + Speed Freak Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
thanks.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:57 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 1081
Location: London, UK
I guess the exception is if the countercharge move gets a new fm in b2b contact, in which case you'd fight that engagement.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
I've read the rules again and I can't see why the activation ends if the enemy moves out of range by their countercharge

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:20 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7850
Location: Worcester, MA
It doesn't, you work out the result again. See the last question here:

http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#resolve-attacks

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
that's dealing with when there is a tie.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:05 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 5707
Location: Leicester UK
From 1.12.3:

'Once the move is complete, the engaging formation must have at least one unit within 15cms of a unit from the target formation. If this is not the case then the assault does not take place and the action ends'

_________________
Imperial Fists and Red Corsairs AC

various hobby/painting threads: full of 6mm goodness

Army Forge List Co-ordinator (netEA+EpicUK)

Do you have anything I'm looking for?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:23 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
I'm talking about when the move is complete and you do have a unit within 15cm (so the activation doesn not end)

But then the enemyvoluntarily countercharges away out of 15cm. there is no rule or FAQ to cover this.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:30 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 5707
Location: Leicester UK
There is no functional differtence

_________________
Imperial Fists and Red Corsairs AC

various hobby/painting threads: full of 6mm goodness

Army Forge List Co-ordinator (netEA+EpicUK)

Do you have anything I'm looking for?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
I personally think:
RAW = roll the result
RAI = activation ends
and some would argue (if they were the defender) that attack stalls and auto breaks

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:43 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 7850
Location: Worcester, MA
ffoley wrote:
that's dealing with when there is a tie.


Ah, yes. If the assault formation can't get within 15cm then that's it. Take counter-charges into account if they're going to move away from the engager.

It definitely doesn't stall. There were no attackers directly engaged, so none were killed.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Tyranids 2016-12-02 | Knight World 2017-01-03 | Raven Guard 2.0


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:01 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 323
Location: London
my experience is people will naturally interpret ambiguity to benefit themselves and there appears some ambiguity here (not sure if FAQ could be improved).

However I'm glad you are all in agreement that activation ends. That is how I will play it too then.

Thanks

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1903
Location: South Yorkshire
It comes down to how you interpret the counter charge rules, especially the highlighted part.

Quote:
1.12.4 Counter Charges
An assault represents a brutal short-range battle involving movement, shooting and close combat. Although the assaulting formation will have initiated the combat, the defending formation will have time to react to the enemy assault and make limited moves of their own. To represent this, units from the defending formation involved in the assault are allowed to make a special move called a counter charge.

Defending units that are not already in base contact with an enemy unit are allowed to counter charge. Units with a speed of 30cm or more may make a counter charge move of 10cm. Units with a speed of 25cm or less may make a counter charge move of 5cm. Counter charges happen after the engaging formation has finished moving and any overwatch shots have been taken, but before the combat is resolved. All the normal charge move rules apply, and defending formations must still be in a legal formation after the counter charge moves have been made (ie, all units must be within 5cm of another unit from their formation). Embarked units may dismount


For me having a unit within 15cm after movement has finished is part of the "normal charge rules" so count for counter charges too.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assault question
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:26 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 5707
Location: Leicester UK
Agreed

_________________
Imperial Fists and Red Corsairs AC

various hobby/painting threads: full of 6mm goodness

Army Forge List Co-ordinator (netEA+EpicUK)

Do you have anything I'm looking for?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net