Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Webway portals and failed activation question

 Post subject: Webway portals and failed activation question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:32 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:45 pm
Posts: 77
This came up in a game on the weekend.
What are the options for an eldar formation in the webway that fails its activation roll?
I realise it can use the 'move' part of a hold action to exit the portal, but can it stay in the webway and remove its blast markers? If it can, can another formation use the same portal that turn?

The FAQ says that a formation that fails its roll loses its activation and doesn't take a hold action.
But that is only in the special case of the webway portal being in an enemy ZOC. Does that FAQ ruling apply if the webway portal is not in an enemy ZOC?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webway portals and failed activation question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:25 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8662
Location: Worcester, MA
http://www.tp.net-armageddon.org/faq/#s ... formations

Towards the middle. Reserve have to enter play if possible.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webway portals and failed activation question
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:03 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:45 pm
Posts: 77
Thanks Dave, I hoped it would be somewhere.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Webway portals and failed activation question
PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2015 1:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2442
Location: UK
This has come up a few times and, whilst there are FAQs, it's worth saying that different groups play it differently. In particular, the "formations that fail must use the move part of the hold action" part is not widely accepted. Having read through the various threads, I would say that almost nobody played it that way until the FAQs were written that way. It was far more common for people to allow eldar formations to regroup and remove the blast marker instead. i.e. if you activate you must choose to enter play, but failing to activate is treated like every other failure (i.e. you can choose what to do as part of your hold action).

Then Necrons came along, and some of the different ways of playing it mattered a whole lot more. Unfortunately the debate was mainly focussed on whether you should be able to stall with off-board formations in the webway (i.e. choose a hold action to regroup), and so the issue of failed activations ended up with an FAQ that is a little unintuitive.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net