Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

Planetfall questions
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=32403
Page 1 of 2

Author:  Norto [ Thu May 18, 2017 6:41 am ]
Post subject:  Planetfall questions

So had a game this week and i got a few different views on how this is played.

Planetfalled a Thunderhawk full of dudes out of a spaceship.


Quote from planet fall:

Any units being transported are allowed to disembark immediately on landing, or stay on board and disembark later. Landing does not count as movement for the purposes of triggering enemy overwatch fire. Disembarking triggers overwatch fire as normal.

Units that land by planetfall may take an action later in the turn. In effect the units land from the spacecraft when the spacecraft takes its action, and can take an action of their own later in the same turn. Remember that any formations that have landed by planetfall and scattered out of formation must move back into a legal formation when they take an action. Aircraft that land by planetfall are treated in the same manner as a landed aircraft (see 4.2.5), and they may take off again later in the game.

Quote from WE transports:

Once the units being transported have mounted up, the war engine can move off with them inside as part of one of its own actions in a subsequent turn. It can dismount the transported units at the end of a move in the same way as a normal transport vehicle (i.e., the units are placed within 5cms of the transport at the end of a move).

Formations that dismount in this way may not take an action in the turn they dismount, but are allowed to either shoot or fight in an assault if the war engine that was transporting it is able to shoot or assault. In both cases, the war engine and the transported units are treated as a single formation until the shooting attack or assault has been resolved. The war engine and the formation that disembarked are treated as being separate formations once the war engine has completely resolved its action.


Question is, since they have unloaded straight after the planet fall, are they consider separate formations and can then activate separate later that turn.

Example: Thunderhawk overwatches, next activation other formation marches away.

Im kinda thinking they are separate formations as they got the free unload from the planetfall. I have guys think this is right, and ive had guys think they are one formation.

Author:  kyussinchains [ Thu May 18, 2017 7:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Yet again the EA rulebook is not particularly clear on something... *shock* ;)

I'd say from reading the rules that if you disembark your units upon landing then they count as wholly separate and may activate

Author:  Dave [ Thu May 18, 2017 12:56 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

If they disembark with the Planetfall rules they're not disembarking as part of the WE's activation. They're both separate formation at that point and can/must activate later in the turn.

If they remained on the WE, they could only disembark as part of its activation (which must include a move).

Author:  Norto [ Thu May 18, 2017 2:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Great, thanks heaps for the replies. Its how i thought and my opponent at the time but i wanted to get more of a ruling from others before i run off saying this is the rules :P

Thanks heaps

Author:  mordoten [ Fri May 19, 2017 5:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?

Author:  kyussinchains [ Fri May 19, 2017 5:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

mordoten wrote:
Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?


I believe the rule is intended that way (and I feel like I have definitely read it that way before too) the unit does not make an approach move so as written, cannot come under fire from ground flak

yet more horribly ambiguous rules writing from GW....

Author:  Kyrt [ Fri May 19, 2017 5:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

mordoten wrote:
Another question related to planetfalling:

Do you get to fire AA-Shots on a planetfalling WE?

Flak attacks can only be made during approach and disengagement moves, so no.

If the planet falling WE is an aircraft and it disengages, then it would be subject to flak attacks at that point.

Author:  mordoten [ Fri May 19, 2017 5:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Aha, thanks!!

Author:  Ginger [ Fri May 19, 2017 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Yup, Planetfalling air-transports is a key way to introduce assault troops into a heavily defended area, or to drop mechanised forces near the intended assault point.
As the others point out
  • since it was the spaceship that activated, all the formations that have just arrived (and disembarked) can activate later in the turn, including the air-transport.
  • troops may stay onboard if they want, but then can only disembark when the transport activates (as a ground unit). In this case the transport can declare an action, not actually move, and the disembarking troops can shoot at or even engage the declared target within usual rules of range, LoS etc.
  • the transports cannot be shot at by enemy AA, but they can be shot by enemy on OW after they have disembarked

Author:  jimmyzimms [ Fri May 19, 2017 11:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Yuppers. No AA on planetfall!! [Looks at Eldar shiftily]

Author:  Norto [ Sat May 20, 2017 1:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

oooo heaps of info. thanks guys.

now to put more 200 point drop pods into the list :P

Author:  Ginger [ Sat May 20, 2017 2:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Good luck with the planning, and even more so with the execution
;D

Author:  Dan 1314 [ Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

"all the formations that have just arrived (and disembarked) can activate later in the turn, including the air-transport."

Ginger, - just for clarity, I assume the air transport when it activates, does so as a ground based war engine with zero move?
i.e it cant fly off and do a bombing run from the place it planetfell ?

thanks.

Author:  Norto [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 8:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Yeah it says in the rules it acts as a WE with 0 move so no fly off until the end of the turn. But from my understanding it can also pick up the same formatiom and take off at the end of turn since it hasnt activated. But would have to be within 5.

Author:  StevekCole [ Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Planetfall questions

Norto wrote:
Yeah it says in the rules it acts as a WE with 0 move so no fly off until the end of the turn. But from my understanding it can also pick up the same formatiom and take off at the end of turn since it hasnt activated. But would have to be within 5.


Don't think it can pick up the same formation as you can't normally re-enter an aircraft after assaulting from them. That would be very powerful, especially with eldar.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/