Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Assaulting a unit already in base to base.

 Post subject: Assaulting a unit already in base to base.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:34 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 305
We had an interesting event occur at the Manchester tournament.
An Orkyosarus was crited, causing it to run into base to base contact with a leman rus.
The two units were then left touching.
On the ork players go, he used another squad to assault the leman rus unit.

This created a problem.
Was the orkyosarus automatically part of the assault (as in base contact), could it be ignored from the assault unless the guard player wished to draw it in, did this count as a combined assault (the orkyosarus had yet to activate that turn.

Answers on a postcard (or below).


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assaulting a unit already in base to base.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 11:38 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8732
Location: Worcester, MA
The Orkeosaurus automatically gets drawn in (as if it were counter-charged and contacted by the Russes).

I had this happen with Assault Marines and a Pylon. Marines won an assault and no one moved. I later engaged the Pylon with something else and the Assaults got drawn in.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=27549

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assaulting a unit already in base to base.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:00 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5467
Location: London, UK
Agreed Dave.
A similar thing happens where a counter-charge contacts a unit from a third formation and they win, or where a Fearless WE loses an assault but does not withdraw, and is still in contact at the start of the following turn. In all such cases, units that are in B2B contact with the enemy are automatically brought into the assault, but may then activate later in the turn if they were not broken.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Assaulting a unit already in base to base.
PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:50 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2474
Location: UK
Why would they not be able to activate? If you get counter charged it doesn't stop up activating later

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net