Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

landed, broken, fearless aircraft in ZoC at end of turn

 Post subject: landed, broken, fearless aircraft in ZoC at end of turn
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:43 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5679
Location: UK
Question form the worlds the weekend:

A landed space marine landing craft (fearless, 0 move, landed) was broken and then zone of controlled by a scout formation.

Normally, a broken lander can choose to stay where it is, as it is fearless and not obliged to take off at end of turn.
However, here it is inside an enemy ZoC due to the scouts.

Would the lander be forced to take off and leave table, to move out of ZoC in end phase?


RAW state 'then it must either charge the enemy or leave the zone of control when it next takes an action (note that this will require an action that allows it to charge or move).'
I assume that taking off to leave table is not an action, so the lander is allowed to stay in place?
As it is broken and might not rally, it would be very possible it would not have an activation next turn. If it did rally, taking off does not normally count as a move, but would take it out of ZoC … so is it even allowed to take off, or forced to assault?

We didn't get a chance to consult RAW at the time, and the wording seems clear to be me checking now (no fly off end phase as its not an activation), but this was an unusual situation and I wanted to check consensus.

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: landed, broken, fearless aircraft in ZoC at end of turn
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 10:01 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6323
Location: Leicester UK
If it's broken then it can't engage, disengaging and flying off at the end of the turn is not an action (being broken, it can't take actions) so the landing craft is not forced to fly off

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

[http://adam77.github.io/snapfire/war/]Army Forge[/url] List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: landed, broken, fearless aircraft in ZoC at end of turn
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 11:53 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:24 pm
Posts: 266
Location: Galicia
Also there is, from 2.1.3

Quote:
When broken or otherwise forced to take a withdrawal
move, Fearless units may choose not to withdraw, and if the unit
elects to withdraw it will be destroyed only if it ends its move
within 5cm of the enemy rather than 15cm. Fearless units that
remain stationary do not take additional damage.


So you can keep it on the ZOC of other units as it is not mandatory to make a withdraw move, which is further suported by:

Quote:
Q: What happens when a broken fearless unit remains in base contact with an
enemy unit after loosing assault?
A: Nothing special. If the enemy unit does not consolidate out of its zone of control
then see 1.7.3. If the units remain in base contact then the opposing formation
will automatically be drawn in to an assault on either formation.


My doubt in this case is when this assault they are automatically getting drawn to happens. ¿When the non-broken side activates?

_________________
Sculpting Orks thread
Statistics of games for OGBM list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: landed, broken, fearless aircraft in ZoC at end of turn
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 1:17 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 387
Location: London
If the landed aircraft is broken it gets no activation and regardless of whether it is in a ZOC it can choose to disengage or stay where it is at the end of the turn.

If a landed fearless aircraft is not broken it counts as any other immobile fearless ground unit.. There is no such thing as a "take off and leave the table" action. It can also choose to disengage or stay where it is at the end of the turn egardless of whether it is in a ZOC.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net