Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts

 Post subject: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:21 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 4:11 pm
Posts: 418
Location: France (Rouen)
In rules, Planetfall do not speak about no-cargo aircraft.

For exemple: the Eldar Vampire Hunter has no Transport capacity and has Planetfall ability.

Do they enter on table by scatering, and then staying above the table, waiting to be activated ?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:37 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20802
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
I'm guessing the planetfall ability there is a typo, and it shouldn't have it.

_________________
6mm scale Scifi Plastic Sprues available here!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:59 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8375
Location: Worcester, MA
From 4.4:

Quote:
Aircraft that land by planetfall are treated in the same manner as a landed aircraft (see 4.2.5), and they may take off again later in the game.


So it lands and carries out a ground attack. Effectively you get avoid AA but have to preplot its arrival. You also need to ignore this little bit of text:

Quote:
Aircraft with a transport capability can land...


In the end I guess we'll wait to see what Neal and his rules guys say. :P

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15 | Raven Guard 2018-04-23


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2012 5:16 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 2:57 am
Posts: 20802
Location: Harrogate, Yorkshire
It has no transport capacity.

It therefore can't land, and its FF and CC ratings can never be used.

_________________
6mm scale Scifi Plastic Sprues available here!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:46 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:32 pm
Posts: 2450
Location: Cardiff, wales
that seems a weirdly unpermissive type of rule.

granted, i can't think of many situations where a non-transport aircraft would land on the battlefield, but still

_________________
The Stygian Incident Demon Engines list
Chaos Titan List dev

Experiments with casting
Experiments in boardgame design

ToEG Chaos Engines


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 7:59 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:49 pm
Posts: 447
Location: Berlin
madd0ct0r wrote:
that seems a weirdly unpermissive type of rule.

granted, i can't think of many situations where a non-transport aircraft would land on the battlefield, but still


You could land it to claim crossfire.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:05 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 4231
Planetfall on an objective end of turn 2 and then go on overwatch

_________________
www.epic-uk.co.uk
NetEA NetERC Human Lists Chair
NetEA Chaos + Black Legion Champion


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:07 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:32 pm
Posts: 2450
Location: Cardiff, wales
I meant in a real life scenario - although both those options are gamey, transport aircraft can do them too.

_________________
The Stygian Incident Demon Engines list
Chaos Titan List dev

Experiments with casting
Experiments in boardgame design

ToEG Chaos Engines


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Planetfall and no-cargo aircrafts
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 8:15 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 10:52 pm
Posts: 9609
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
I think it would be best to consider it a typo. The rules just say flat out that you have to have transport capacity to land. As far as I'm concerned, the landing rules are so wonky that letting any unit that's not explicitly allowed use them is a bad idea.


Of course, if you use the "immediate disengage" fan rules, the problem disappears... >:D


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net