Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Infiltrate rule

 Post subject: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 1:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5393
Location: London, UK
Guys, can anyone explain why the Infiltrate rule should only work getting troops into action and not in getting them away?

Put another way, what does "Infiltrate" actually represent; is it representing a 'stealthy' attack - the ability for these kind of troops to move undetected across the battlefield, or does it represent the speed and manoeuverability of lightly armoured recon troops?

If the latter, why not amend the rule to allow infiltrators the abiliity to consolidate a full move rather than just 5cm? The argument being that these light troops are specifically *not* intended to hold positions, but rather to scout out positions, hit-and-run where practical, skirmish and avoid major confrontations etc.

Thoughts?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 3:42 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:15 am
Posts: 1832
Location: Oslo, Norway
It represents both - space marine scouts, rough riders and warp spiders use very different tactics, but it all ends up with Infiltrate.

Infiltrate represents what it needs to represent for a given unit.


Last edited by Ulrik on Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 9:33 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6028
Location: Leicester UK
agreed with Ulrik

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:20 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5393
Location: London, UK
While I understand that E:A is an abstraction, and thus that the rules can represent a variety of situations, I am not sure that "Infiltrate" actually does that after combat - hence the question.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:21 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1934
Location: South Yorkshire
When I read the Infiltrator rule I get a feeling it is to represent a sneaky/stealth attack.
Underlined what I see as the relevant part.
Quote:
2.1.4 Infiltrators
Some units are noted as being infiltrators. These are allowed to
double their speed when they make a charge move (and only
when they charge!), and they can also ignore enemy zones of
control from the formation they are charging. These two
special abilities allow them to sneak past enemy units when
they charge in order to attack enemy units that are further back
.
Note that the unit coherency rules still apply to infiltrators.


Ginger wrote:
Guys, can anyone explain why the Infiltrate rule should only work getting troops into action and not in getting them away?

Put another way, what does "Infiltrate" actually represent; is it representing a 'stealthy' attack - the ability for these kind of troops to move undetected across the battlefield, or does it represent the speed and manoeuverability of lightly armoured recon troops?

If the latter, why not amend the rule to allow infiltrators the abiliity to consolidate a full move rather than just 5cm? The argument being that these light troops are specifically *not* intended to hold positions, but rather to scout out positions, hit-and-run where practical, skirmish and avoid major confrontations etc.

Thoughts?


The underlined part of your post is reason enough for me for their not to be a need for a full consolidation move to represent light recon troops (in this situation).
Reason being if they are intended to skirmish and avoid major confrontation then they wouldn't be assaulting or taking enemy positions, as I see it, it would be a major confrontation to attack and take an enemy position in the first place.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:17 am 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:55 pm
Posts: 610
Well, for starters it would be a rather large boost to any infiltrate units, requiring a points increase for units from just about all armies. Secondly, in the case of something like scouts, i'd imagine it would be as much them being infiltrated forwards before the engagement, rather than just being able to move twice as fast magically. In that case, them having a consolidate move the same as non infiltrate units seems more sensible.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 4:40 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:24 am
Posts: 4499
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I thought it also represented troops who can barge/batter/thunder/dodge through enemy ranks - like Harlequins or Juggernauts etc


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Infiltrate rule
PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:25 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 5393
Location: London, UK
Ok thanks guys - it was just a minor question.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net