Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Break Their Spirit

 Post subject: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8693
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Wasn't there an FAQ answer that you only count the most expensive formation on the table as the BTS objective?

For example: The most expensive formation in an Ork army is a Fighter-bomber Skwadron. Can the Orkplayer choose Stand Down orders to withheld BTS from his opponent? Or can his opponent claim BTS if he destroys the next most-expensive formation which is already on the table?

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:13 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:21 pm
Posts: 1978
Location: Thompson, MB, Canada
Yup.

From p 50 of the Tournament pack:
Q:Do Spacecraft count for the Break Their Spirit goal if they are the most expensive formation in an army?
A:No. Spacecraft (or any off-board units or formations) do not count towards goals.

_________________
The Apocrypha of Skaros 1.1
Rogue Trader Expedition 0.4
The Horus Heresy 0.5
Night Lords 0.1
My Trade Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:28 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6126
Location: Leicester UK
yup, it's not uncommon for necron players to have a BTS shifting around depending on what's phased out etc....

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 6:32 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8693
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
Thanks guys :)

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:40 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:12 am
Posts: 1331
Location: Australia
actually thats not quite right.
the BTS is the most expensive formation that is destroyed or on the table.

so if you have an aircraft BTS (stood down or not, when it comes time to check BTS they will have disengaged) if they're alive but off the table, they dont count as a viable BTS, and the second most expensive formation is checked. but if they were destroyed mid-game they would count.

as for necrons, remember that anything that is in reserve (including anything that phased out) counts as DESTROYED which means that if their most expensive formation is in reserve, it does not revert to the next most expensive formation, but rather, gives up the BTS goal. Necrons give up their BTS incredibly easily.

_________________
~Every Tool Is A Weapon, If You Hold It Right~


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:02 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 8693
Location: Leipzig, Germany, Europe, Sol III, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group, Virgo Supercluster, Universe
But the Tournament Pack says otherwise. So what is correct?

_________________
We are returned!
http://www.epic-wargaming.de/


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:45 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:21 pm
Posts: 1978
Location: Thompson, MB, Canada
The Tournament Pack answer implies what JTG said. The other option would be more than one BTS, which would be silly.

JTG is technically correct. The best kind of correct. ;)

_________________
The Apocrypha of Skaros 1.1
Rogue Trader Expedition 0.4
The Horus Heresy 0.5
Night Lords 0.1
My Trade Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:32 pm
Posts: 2450
Location: Cardiff, wales
Jaggedtoothgrin wrote:
actually thats not quite right.
the BTS is the most expensive formation that is destroyed or on the table.

so if you have an aircraft BTS (stood down or not, when it comes time to check BTS they will have disengaged) if they're alive but off the table, they dont count as a viable BTS, and the second most expensive formation is checked. but if they were destroyed mid-game they would count.

as for necrons, remember that anything that is in reserve (including anything that phased out) counts as DESTROYED which means that if their most expensive formation is in reserve, it does not revert to the next most expensive formation, but rather, gives up the BTS goal. Necrons give up their BTS incredibly easily.


if that formation comes back on, do they get it back or is the BTS forever lost?

_________________
The Stygian Incident Demon Engines list
Chaos Titan List dev

Experiments with casting
Experiments in boardgame design

ToEG Chaos Engines


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:30 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:55 pm
Posts: 610
You get it back. BTS is determined dynamically at the end of each scoring turn. If you have BTS but no others end of turn three, then say blitz but your opponent now has the BTS formation back on the board end of turn four, you only count as having one victory condition each turn so can't win.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Break Their Spirit
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:39 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8439
Location: Worcester, MA
It's calculated at the end of turn 3, 4 and possibly 5.

If your most expensive formation is an AC, it gets ignored if it's off board at the end of those turns.

So if the second most expensive formation is a ground formation that's destroyed, you can give your opponent BTS on turn three by having your AC off board, and deny it to them turn 4 with it being on board.

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15 | Raven Guard 2018-04-23


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net