Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

disembarking from drop pod into ZoC

 Post subject: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:27 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5656
Location: UK
the situation:
drop pod scatters into enemy ZoC
opponent moves pod to nearest non-ZoC area
units *must* disembark (by current netea and euk wordingin codex marines)
what happens if the non-ZoC area the pod was diverted to is not large enough for the whole formation to disembark without entering enemy ZoC?

Options seem to be:
1) move the pod the the nearest space not just where it can land, but where whole formation can be accommodated (common sense, but not stated/ruled)
2) allow disembark into ZoC (forbidden by 1.7.3)
3) units are destroyed (also common sense but no other situations where you'd do this unless explicitly instructed by RAW? If so, would they take blast markers, etc? possible easy to exploit with sufficient dedication in deployment vs drop heavy armies)

Pretty sure I've asked this before as a hypothetical from an on table game where it had almost happened, and it was thought to be unlikely to ever really happen. On table it's hard to see all ZoC exactly so it's easier to just move it somewhere big enough. However, this happened in a vassal game 2 days ago – we could see exactly where all ZoC bubbles were.

Would be useful to have a formal ruling on this – can happen, has happened, affects game from turn 1 activation 1.

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Last edited by Apocolocyntosis on Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:34 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5656
Location: UK
here's my original question from a while ago: http://www.taccmd.tacticalwargames.net/ ... 69&t=31127

Dave's word works for me, but could it go in an FAQ/amendment to wording?

(in game 2 days ago we played on, moving it that pod went to nearest space that was big enough for formation)

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:41 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 8643
Location: Worcester, MA
Did people from the various major metas want to weigh in on this? I'm still inclined towards 1).

_________________
Dave

Blog

NetEA Tournament Pack Website

Squats 2018-05-15


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:09 am 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5656
Location: UK
Note that this can mean you are forced to disembarked intermingled with another friendly formation. (not a rules problem, just and observation after another game last night with a lot of drop formations vs a very contested LZ)

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 12:32 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6296
Location: Leicester UK
this has definitely happened to me before, surprised it doesnt have a concrete answer, unfortunately in my game where it occured, dptdexys was having a week off....

_________________
NetEA Space Marine, Imperial Fists and Blood Angels Army Champion

NetEA Red Corsairs Army Champion

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:17 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 1:41 pm
Posts: 377
Location: London
IMHO 2 and 3 are not viable. 1 is perfectly reasonable

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: disembarking from drop pod into ZoC
PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2019 9:56 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2015 7:25 pm
Posts: 282
When all else fails, - logic.
Option 1.

The issue really is that the drop pod has no marker, no size, isn't really a unit, and no zone of control.
So logic suggests we assume its size is that of the unit on board (yes, yes, we know rhinos are a fraction of a squads size,,,) . So if we allocate the drop pod the size of the unit it is carrying, then where it can lawfully land is beyond the 1/4 mm space where no opponent has a zoc.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net